Für diesen Rundfunk zahlen wir nicht! Für ein öffentlich-rechtliches Modell jenseits der Sender

Since the introduction of the new fee-regime the long since smoldering discontent with the public broadcasting system has reignited. How can the criticism blazing on all channels finally spark a political reaction? We demand consequences!

This is why we won't pay. We want to join together the criticism that has been raised into a payment strike. We strike to make space for a debate about the future of public broadcasting.

Our strike is directed against an institution that legitimatises itself by the constitutional mandate of basic media supply ("mediale Grundversorgung"). An institution however, that at the same time has rejected its own democratic principles by blanketly ignoring public criticism. The existing public TV stations are not nearly “remote from the state” as their boards are dominated by party politics. They have grown indistinguishable from private sector companies by holding ratings as their main focus. In structure and content, the existing public broadcasters do not serve our media interests.

The current adaptation of the fee-regime to the new digital realities is an opportunity for change we want to use. The public broadcasting system as a whole must be redesigned, not only the financing.

Yet the decision-makers, in Provincial Governments and on the broadcasting boards, duck out of the consequences of their decision. They allow public debate to come to nothing. The collection of the new fees is done little by little to circumnavigate the cliffs of a legitimacy-crisis and avoid a strong public outcry.

Nobody can evade paying the new broadcasting fee. Therefore the service in return has to be acceptable to everybody. We suspend our payment in order to negotiate to what use our contribution will be put. We demand a socially balanced calculation of the amount of the fee. We demand political and economic transparency. The public service has to be as heterogeneous as its users.

We are an association of media producers and users anyone can join.

Join us now!

Für diesen Rundfunk zahlen wir nicht!
Für ein öffentlich-rechtliches Modell jenseits der Sender

Seit der Einführung des neuen Gebührensystems ist die schon seit langem schwelende Unzufriedenheit mit dem öffentlich rechtlichen Rundfunk neu entflammt. Wie kann die auf allen öffentlichen Kanälen lodernde Kritik endlich eine politische Reaktion auslösen? Wir fordern Folgen!

Deswegen zahlen wir nicht. Wir führen die laut gewordene Kritik in einem Zahlungsstreik zusammen. Wir streiken, um Raum für eine Diskussion über die Zukunft des öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunks zu schaffen.

Wir bestreiken eine Institution, die sich über den Auftrag der medialen Grundversorgung legitimiert und sich durch ihre Kritikresistenz von ihrem eigenen demokratischen Grundsatz entkoppelt hat. Die bestehenden öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehsender sind alles andere als staatsfern, denn ihre Gremien sind parteipolitisch dominiert. Sie unterscheiden sich nicht mehr von privatwirtschaftlichen Akteuren, denn sie orientieren sich vornehmlich an der Einschaltquote. Strukturell wie inhaltlich erfüllen sie unsere medialen Interessen nicht.

Die Anpassung der Rundfunkgebühr an die digitale Gegenwart ist eine Chance für Veränderung, die wir nutzen wollen. Sie erfordert einen grundsätzlichen Neuentwurf des Öffentlichen Rundfunks, nicht nur seiner Finanzierung.

Doch die Entscheidungsträger in den Landesregierungen und den Rundfunkräten ducken sich vor den Konsequenzen ihres Entschlusses. Sie lassen die öffentliche Debatte ins Leere laufen. Der Einzug der Gebühren erfolgt zeitverschoben, um die Klippen der Legitimationskrise zu umschiffen.

Dem neuen Rundfunkbeitrag kann sich niemand mehr entziehen. Also muss die Gegenleistung auch für alle akzeptabel sein. Wir unterbrechen die Zahlung, um zu verhandeln, wie unsere Beiträge verwendet werden. Wir fordern eine soziale Berechnung der Beitragshöhe. Wir fordern politische und ökonomische Transparenz. Der öffentlich-rechtliche Rundfunk muss so plural sein wie seine Nutzer:innen.

Wir sind ein Zusammenschluss von Produzent:innen und Nutzer:innen, dem sich jede und jeder frei anschließen kann.

Join us Now!

Remote-Control
(Juli 2013)